The Fielder House, located at the corner of Fielder and Abram streets, was built for Mr. and Mrs. James Park Fielder, Sr. as their private residence in 1914. The two-story house, surrounded by magnificent oaks was one of the first brick homes in Arlington. The galleries at the Fielder House are used primarily to exhibit themes and topics relating to the history of Arlington and its surrounding communities.
Past exhibits include "Faces of Arlington" WWII - A series of exhibits showcasing the community, its residents and the hometown hero's of WWII.
Permanent exhibits include the Fielder Kitchen, Fielder Room, Children’s and Media Room, Dr. Zack Bobo’s Office, the Cooper Gallery, Watson Bedroom and Collectables in the basement.
Open Tuesday-Saturday 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Admission: $3.00. Audio MP3 tours coming soon.
For more information call: 817-460-4001
The Knapp Heritage Park
Open Saturday & Sunday
1 p.m. - 4 p.m.
and by Special Appointments
The Knapp Heritage Park, located at 201 W. Front Street in downtown Arlington provides a glimpse of pioneer life. The park consists of a one-room schoolhouse, a one-room cabin, a dog trot cabin, and the Bardin barn. There is also a general store located in James Knapp's law office and is recognized as a landmark from the Arlington Preservation Society. Audio MP3 tours coming soon!
The Knapp Heritage Park is the sight of the annual Front Street Festival each September. The festival features living history re-enactments, local artisans, craftsmen, classic cars, music, food & fun for the entire family!