OUR HISTORICAL VENUES AND EXHIBITS
Where the Past Comes Alive
The Fielder House, located at the corner of Fielder and Abram streets, was built for Mr. and Mrs. James Park Fielder, Sr. as their private residence in 1914. The two-story house, surrounded by magnificent oaks was one of the first brick homes in Arlington.
The galleries at the Fielder house are used primarily to exhibit themes and topics relating to the history of Arlington and its surrounding communities. past exhibits include "Faces of Arlington" WWII - A series of exhibits showcasing the community, its residents and the hometown heroes of WWII. A current exhibit on hometown hero and notable Hollywood actor Morgan Woodward is displayed and currently in process of expansion.
Historic Fielder House Museum
Where History Lives
The galleries at the Fielder house are used primarily to exhibit themes and topics relating to the history of Arlington and its surrounding communities. past exhibits include "Faces of Arlington" WWII - A series of exhibits showcasing the community, its residents and the hometown heroes of WWII. A current exhibit on hometown hero and notable Hollywood actor Morgan Woodward is a current exhibit. Beautiful gardens to enjoy year-round.
Knapp Heritage Park
See History Come Alive
Knapp Heritage Park, dedicated in 2004, contains three of the oldest Arlington structures. This cultural and heritage facility is available for school tours, rentals, private tours, and is open to the general public. The Jopling-Melear and Watson cabins, which date to the mid-1800s, along with a 1910 one-room schoolhouse are also located within the park. The Bardin blacksmith barn is also onsite, along with a general store located in James Knapp's law office. The park is open Friday and Saturday from 4 PM to 6 PM and Sunday from 2:00 PM to 6:00 PM. Come see our live Blacksmith Presentation the last Sunday of each month.
Learn more about Knapp Heritage Park by visiting us on Facebook
Arlington Heritage Memorial Grounds
Preserving and Honoring Our Past
The Arlington Heritage Memorial Grounds is comprised of three independently established cemeteries on 1.8 acres that combined, serve as a monument to the history of Arlington and Tarrant County, with earliest known burials in the 1850s. The eastern portion of the area was originally named Mill Branch Cemetery, which included the Eli Ford family and members of the M.T. Johnson family. This cemetery is the resting place of Colonel Middleton Tate Johnson, the father of Tarrant County. At his death in 1866, Col. Johnson was buried in the State Cemetery in Austin, but in 1870 his family moved his body to the family plot in Arlington. In 1936, the State of Texas marked his grave-site with a Centennial Marker. In the 1950s, family members petitioned the court to officially name this small section the M.T. Johnson Family Cemetery. This cemetery was also the only place in Arlington where black residents could be buried from 1900 to the 1950s. Most of these graves are located in the western section with the earliest known burial being in 1916. Renovations will continue through the generous financial support of the community to improve the grounds.
Learn more about Arlington Heritage Memorial Gardens by visiting us on Facebook